Police Department

Brooklyn Police Department

 

The Brooklyn Police Department is comprised of a three-quarter time Police Chief, one full-time Patrol Officer, two part-time Patrol Officers and one part-time Clerical Staff member. The Police Department is located in the Community Building on the second floor. Due to part-time staffing, Police Patrol and other typical law enforcement services are limited. 

Citizens of the Village of Brooklyn are encouraged to contact us so that we may respond to take a report and/or provide assistance.  In those instances that are not time sensitive or an emergency feel free to call and leave a voice message or send an e-mail and we will contact you.  If the situation is urgent or an emergency, you are encouraged to call 911 so that law enforcement from either Dane County Sheriff’s Department or Green County Sheriff’s Department may respond in a timely manner.   

police

James F. Barger
Chief of Police
Brooklyn Police Department

Please dial 911 for all emergencies

Brooklyn Police Department
102 N. Rutland Av.
Brooklyn, WI 53521-0189
608-455-2131 (non-emergency)
608-455-1799 (fax)
police@brooklynwi.gov

When does the law require a crash report? Click on Report Your Crash for more information.

Report Your Crash

2017 Law of the Month

July

Curfew Sec. 20-8. 

  1. No person 15 years of age or under shall be in a public place in the village between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. on weeknights (Sunday—Thursday), or between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. on weekends (Friday and Saturday). No person 16 or 17 years of age shall be in a public place in the village between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. on weeknights (Sunday—Thursday), or between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. on weekends (Friday and Saturday). This curfew does not apply if that person is accompanied by a parent or guardian, is returning from an officially sanctioned school function as defined in subsection (b) of this section, or has some other legitimate purpose for being in a public place.
  2. An officially sanctioned school function is a function authorized by the governing body of any public or parochial school of the Villages of Oregon or Brooklyn. Any person 17 years of age or younger attending or returning from such function shall carry on his person a means of identification in such form as shall be approved by the police department or the governing body of the school attended by said person.
  3. It shall be unlawful for a parent or guardian to permit any person under his control, if that person is 17 years of age or younger, to be in any public place in the village or unless the person has some other legitimate purpose for being in a public place.

June

Move Over Law: Drivers must provide a safety zone for stopped law enforcement and other emergency vehicles

A Wisconsin State Patrol trooper was fortunate to sustain only minor injuries when his cruiser, which was stopped on the side of a highway with its emergency lights activated, was hit in the rear by a vehicle in December. The trooper reported, “I sustained minor injuries but will live to serve another day without permanent or life-altering effects. Other troopers and officers have not been so lucky, losing limbs or their lives.”

To provide a safety zone for law enforcement officers and other workers on the side of roadways, drivers must comply with Wisconsin’s Move Over Law.

“Drivers are required to shift lanes if possible or at least slow down when encountering a law enforcement vehicle, ambulance, fire truck, tow truck, highway maintenance vehicle or utility vehicle that is stopped on the side of a road with its warning lights flashing. On interstate highways and other divided roads with multiple directional lanes, you must move over to vacate the lane closest to the emergency vehicle if you can safely switch lanes. If the road has a single directional lane or you can’t safely move over because of traffic, you must reduce your speed until safely past the vehicle.

A citation for a Move Over Law violation costs $263.50 with three demerit points added to your driver’s license.

“During winter months, law enforcement officers, tow truck operators and others frequently must respond to crashes and assist motorists whose vehicles have slid off icy roads. Officers and other workers are in danger of being hit while inside or outside their vehicles by out-of-control or speeding vehicles that did not move over. “Drivers have a legal and moral responsibility to help protect those who must work on the side of busy roads. By obeying the Move Over Law, drivers can protect themselves, their passengers, our officers and others who work on highways from serious injuries and deaths.”

 

May

32-92. - Disturbance of the peace with a motor vehicle.

(a) Unnecessary noise prohibited. It shall be unlawful for any person to operate a motor vehicle in such a manner which shall make or cause to be made any loud, disturbing, or unnecessary sounds or noises such as may tend to annoy or disturb another in or about any public or private area in the village.

(b) Unnecessary smoke prohibited. It shall be unlawful for any person to operate a motor vehicle in such a manner which shall make or cause to be made any smoke, gases, or odors which are disagreeable, foul, or otherwise offensive which may tend to annoy or disturb another in or about any public or private area in the village.

(c) Unnecessary acceleration and display of power prohibited. It shall be unlawful for any person to operate any vehicle, including motorcycles, all-terrain vehicles and bicycles, in such a manner as to cause, by excessive and unnecessary acceleration, the tires of such vehicle or cycle to spin or emit loud noises or to unnecessarily throw stones or gravel; nor shall such driver cause to be made an excessive and unnecessary acceleration any loud noise as would disturb the peace.

(d) Avoidance of traffic control device prohibited. It shall be unlawful for any person to operate a motor vehicle in such a manner as to leave the roadway and travel across private property to avoid an official traffic control device, sign, or signal.

(e) Operation in restricted area prohibited. It shall be unlawful for any person to operate a motor vehicle in such a manner as to leave the roadway and park, stop, or travel upon or across any public or private property, parking lot, driveway, or business service area for any purpose except the official conduct of business located on said property without the consent of the owner or lessee of the property. This section shall specifically include, but not be limited to:

(1) Public park property;

(2) Cemetery properties;

(3) School district property;

(4) Medical facilities;

(5) Funeral homes;

(6) Service stations;

(7) Grocery stores;

(8) Restaurants;

(9) Financial institutions; and

(10) Other similar-type businesses with service driveways or drive-up or drive-through facilities.

(f) Stopping and parking prohibited. It shall be unlawful for any person to stop or park a motor vehicle in any manner on any public or private property or parking lot contrary to a regulatory sign posted thereon which may permit parking by certain persons and limits, restricts, or prohibits parking as to other persons without the consent of the owner or lessee of the property. Any vehicle parked in violation of this section may be removed or towed by the property owner at the vehicle owner's expense.

Failure to adhere to the above Ordinance could result in a citation and a penalty of up to $326.50.

 

April

National Distracted Driving Awareness Month

 

Distracted Driving & Texting

Driving deserves your undivided attention

Despite laws to prevent distracted driving, too many motorists still talk, eat meals and text on cell phones while behind the wheel. They rummage for things on the seats, floor, dashboard or other compartments. They even stare intently in the rearview mirror to comb their hair or apply make-up. Because they’re not paying attention to traffic conditions and road hazards, distracted drivers drastically increase their risks of causing a crash or failing to avoid one.

While texting and driving is a leading cause of distraction behind the wheel, distracted driving is any activity that takes a person’s attention away from the primary task of driving. There are three main types of distraction:

  1. Manual – taking your hands off the wheel
  2. Visual – taking your eyes off the road
  3. Cognitive – taking your mind off drivingDistracted driving is dangerous to novice and expert drivers alike. 1 in 5 crashes involve distracted driving. In 2015, there were 24,089 car crashes related to distracted driving in Wisconsin. That means, there is a distracted driving crash happening somewhere in Wisconsin every 22 minutes.
  4. Driving is a privilege, and it’s important to not get distracted in order to help keep you, your passengers, and others on the road safe. Follow these few tips and help us achieve zero deaths on Wisconsin roads:
  5. Many distractions involve all three types of distraction, but all it takes is one. The typical distraction requires the driver to take their attention off driving for less than 5 seconds. If a driver is going 55 miles per hour and gets distracted for less than 5 seconds, they’ve traveled the length of an entire football field (that’s over 100 yards) without paying attention!
  • Commit to driving safely and distraction-free, no matter what
  • Turn off your phone, or download an app to prevent incoming and outgoing messages, calls, and notifications while driving; some even send an auto-response back to let people know you’re on the road
  • Enlist the help of your passengers to avoid distraction
  • Speak up as a passenger if you witness distracted driving
  • Pull over safely if you need to address any distraction while driving
  • Plan ahead: eat, groom, primp, and organize before OR after your drive to avoid any unforeseen distraction
  • Get your loved ones on board: sign a pledge together and hold each other accountable for keeping your focus on driving whenever you’re behind the wheel
  • For additional information regarding the risks associated with distracted driving, visit www.Distraction.gov.

 

March

State law stipulates when headlights must be turned on

Per state law, you must use headlights during hours of darkness, which is defined in statute as “the period of time from one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise and all other times when there is not sufficient natural light to render clearly visible any person or vehicle upon a highway at a distance of 500 feet.”

In addition, a recently enacted state law requires headlight use when weather conditions limit visibility to 500 feet or less. “Rainy, snowy or foggy days will limit visibility. A sensible rule to follow is that if you turn on your windshield wipers you should also turn on your headlights. You should use your low beams when driving in fog, snow or heavy rain because the light from high beams often will reflect off the precipitation and cause glare. At other times, high beams should be used whenever there are no oncoming vehicles because high beams let you see twice as far.

State law requires that you dim your high beams whenever you approach an oncoming vehicle within 500 feet, which is about one-tenth of a mile. High beams also must be dimmed when you are 500 feet or less behind another vehicle.

A citation for failing to use headlights when required or failing to dim high beams within 500 feet of another vehicle will cost drivers $162.70 plus three demerit points.

As drivers begin their seasonal adjustments to increase/decrease hours of darkness and more inclement weather, headlight use is critical for their safety and the safety of others drivers.

Brooklyn Police Department

February 2017

Wisconsin's 'Absolute Sobriety Law' means not a drop of alcohol for drivers under age 21

Traffic crashes are the leading cause of death for teens in Wisconsin. To prevent needless deaths and injuries during the start of the graduation season and other springtime celebrations, law enforcement agencies are reminding young motorists and their parents about Wisconsin’s Absolute Sobriety Law for drivers under age 21.

The law is quite simple. Absolute sobriety for drivers under age 21 means they may not consume any amount of alcohol—not even a drop—and legally operate a motor vehicle.

Young drivers convicted of violating Wisconsin’s Absolute Sobriety Law will have their driver license suspended for three months. They also will have to pay a $389.50 citation and will have four demerit points assessed on their driver license.

“At any age, alcohol even in small amounts may impair the mental and physical skills needed to drive safely, such as decision-making, concentration, coordination and reaction time. However, teens and young people, who often are inexperienced drivers, are especially susceptible to the adverse effects of alcohol on their driving ability, we don’t want young drivers or their passengers to suffer serious injuries or tragic deaths because of a disastrous decision, such as getting behind the wheel after drinking.

Brooklyn Police Department

 

 

January 2017 

What to do when you see flashing lights on the highway

Flashing lights on emergency vehicles are designed to get your attention while driving and prompt decisive actions. By reacting calmly and correctly in the following situations, you can help prevent serious problems.

When you see warning, lights flashing on a law enforcement vehicle, ambulance, fire truck, tow truck, highway maintenance vehicle or utility vehicle that is stopped on the side of a road, you are required to move over or at least slow down.   “Under the state’s, Move Over Law, if you can safely switch lanes on interstate highways and other divided roads with multiple directional lanes, you must vacate the lane closest to the stopped law enforcement or other emergency vehicle, If the road has a single directional lane or you can’t safely move over because of traffic, you must reduce your speed until safely past the vehicle.”

A citation for a Move Over Law violation costs $263.50 with three demerit points added to your driver’s license.

“Our officers and others working on the sides of highways are in danger of being hit while inside or outside their vehicles by out-of-control or speeding vehicles that did not move over. By obeying the Move Over Law, drivers can protect themselves, their passengers, our officers and others who work on highways from serious injuries and deaths.

Drivers also may encounter emergency vehicles, such as law enforcement squad cars, ambulances and fire trucks, approaching with their warning lights and sirens activated.  Per state law, drivers must then yield the right of way and drive immediately “to a position as near as possible and parallel to the right curb or the right-hand edge of the shoulder of the roadway clear of any intersection.” Unless directed otherwise by a law enforcement officer, the driver of the vehicle shall stop and remain stopped until the authorized emergency vehicle has passed. A violation of this law costs $326.50 with four points added to the driver’s license.

“While making, traffic stops on divided highways, we as officers see many motorists move to the left and stop on the median shoulder instead of pulling over on the right shoulder. Stopping on the median shoulder instead of the shoulder on the right is dangerous for both the motorist and the officer.

Staying safe on the highway for you and others is top priority.

Brooklyn Police Department

 

 

2016 Laws of the Month

Click on the above wording to take you to the laws.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Brooklyn Citizens Complete Police Citizens Academy

Russell Cazier, Village Trustee, and Linda Kuhlman, Deputy Clerk-Treasurer, along with four Belleville residents, were awarded plaques on June 1, 2016, in recognition of completing the Belleville/Brooklyn Police Citizens Academy. The goal of the program is to increase understanding among area residents and law enforcement. The nine-week Academy included instruction on aspects of law, use of force, and drug use trends; a visit to the Dane County 911 Center; hands-on experience driving emergency vehicles, firing various weapons, field sobriety testing, and crime scene investigation methods; and a demonstration by the Green County K-9 unit. Persons interested in attending future academies are invited to contact Chief Harry Barger.

IMG_20160505_185915931_HDR

Officer Cynthia Neubert was recently recognized by the Oregon-Brooklyn Optimist Club as the "Officer of the Year" for her work in the community as a Police Officer in Brooklyn. Officer Neubert has been with the Brooklyn Police Department in a part-time capacity since 2009. She also works as a full-time Officer for the Oregon Police Department. She has served as a School Resource Officer in the Oregon School District and managed many community based activities, many of which have helped Brooklyn residents. One of the events that qualified her for the recognition was a traffic stop in February of 2015 where she discovered drugs and paraphernalia among numerous traffic charges. Her attention to detail allowed her to take into custody over $4,000 worth of drugs and prevent the drugs from being sold. Officer Neubert is a valued employee of the Brooklyn Police Department, and we applaud her service to our community and congratulate her on this recognition. The photo shows Officer Neubert, Brooklyn Police Chief Harry Barger; along with Optimist President Mary Kay Clark and member Maynard Scoehr.

 

 Worthless Checks

The Village of Brooklyn, through correct procedures by the Brooklyn Police Department and its Merchants pursues enforcement actions enforcing the Village of Brooklyn’s ordinance against worthless check violators. Click here for our worthless check policy and procedure.

 

     PROTECTING OUR COMMUNITIES

The Wisconsin Crime Alert Network (WCAN) is a statewide program that links law enforcement agencies with the business community and the public in a partnership to fight crime.  WCAN is a highly effective program which can help prevent crime and aid in the apprehension of criminals.

WHAT IS WISCONSIN CRIME ALERT?
WCAN allows law enforcement agencies to send out crime alert bulletins rapidly, to the business community and to the general public, whenever a crime or suspect may affect citizens of their businesses. WCAN provides a rapid, cost-effective means of communication between law enforcement agencies and the communities they serve.

For more details on Wisconsin Crime Alert Network, click here or on the logo above.

***************************************************************************************************************